Daya Ratnayake new Chairman Colombo School of Business and Management | Daily News

Daya Ratnayake new Chairman Colombo School of Business and Management

General (Retd) Daya Ratnayake WWV RWP RSP USP ndu psc, the 20th Commander of the Sri Lanka Army was recently appointed as the new Chairman of the Colombo School of Business and Management by the advisory council of the school.

This imminent appointment is in line with the recent inclusion of Prof. Ranjith Bandara who was the Founder Chairman/Head of CSBM, as a Member of Parliament after the recent General Election and his inclusion through the prestigious national list of Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna.

The span of General Ratnayake’s duties expands more than 36 years and outshines as one of the officers in the Sri Lankan Armed Forces who has pursued many local and overseas graduate study courses including diplomas. Currently, General Rathnayake is reading for his PhD at Kotalawala Defence University. In addition, General Daya Ratnayaka has held many key staff, instructor, and administrative appointments, such as the Commanding Officer of the Sri Lanka Military Academy, Director Media of the Sri Lanka Army and Military Spokesman for the Ministry of Defence.

He was educated at Maliyadeva College, Kurunegala. Upon commissioning, he followed the Commando Officers Course, Infantry Young Officers Course, Battalion Support Weapon Course, Junior Command and Senior Command Courses in India, Governance and Management of Defence Course at Cranfield University, UK, Higher Level Security Studies Diploma Course and Advanced Communication Skills Course in Asia-Pacific Centre for Security Studies in Honolulu, Hawaii, USA. He also graduated from Defence Service Command and Staff College, Bangladesh, National Defence University, China and Army Intelligence School, Fort Huachuca, Arizona, USA.

General Ratnayake, in addition to his contribution to the field of Army athletics, held the office of the Chairman, Defence Services Games Committee in 2011 and 2012 while still serving as President, Sri Lanka Army Sports Control Board since 2010. To his credit, he was unanimously elected to the office of the National Chairmanship in the Sri Lanka Athletics Federation in 2012 and worked hard for its promotion.