Russell and Afridi to brighten Lanka Premier League curtain-raiser | Daily News

Russell and Afridi to brighten Lanka Premier League curtain-raiser

Two of the biggest entertainers of the shortest format of the game, Andre Russell and Shahid Afridi are set for a massive showdown in the Lanka Premier League (LPL) T20 Cricket Tournament curtain-raiser match scheduled for November 21 at the Mahinda Rajapaksa Stadium in Hambantota.

West Indian all-rounder Russell will turn out for the Colombo Kings coached by veteran Dav Whatmore, while former Pakistan Captain Afridi will represent the Galle Gladiators coached by Moin Khan.

Russell is currently representing the Kolkata Knight Riders in the Indian Premier League, while Afridi is set to play in the Pakistan Super League before arriving in Colombo.

The other significant feature in these two heavyweights is that both players have already figured in well over 300 Twenty20 fixtures during their illustrious career.

This opening fixture of the inaugural tournament should turn out to be a real blockbuster, with several other top international stars set to represent their respective franchises.

The game, which begins at 7.30 p.m., will be a contest between the Galle Gladiators’ bowlers and the Colombo Kings’ batsmen.

Former Pakistan ace paceman Mohammad Amir will be the cynosure of all eyes, as he will spearhead the Galle Gladiators’ bowling attack, which also includes Sri Lanka’s Lasith Malinga and Akila Dananjaya.

They will have a daunting task in containing an awesome batting line-up, which is studded with players in the calibre of Russell, South African Francois du Plessis, and two former Sri Lanka Captains: Angelo Mathews and Dinesh Chandimal.

Among the other local players, Colombo Kings will have the services of all-rounder Isuru Udana and Ashan Priyanjan, while the Galle Gladiators will bank on Milinda Siriwardana, Danushka Gunathilaka, and Lakshan Sandaken.



November 21 - Colombo vs Galle (7.30 pm) at MRICS, Hambantota

November 22 - Kandy vs Jaffna (3.00 pm), Colombo vs Dambulla (7.30 pm) at MRICS, Hambantota

November 23 - Colombo vs Galle (3.00 pm), Dambulla vs Jaffna (7.30 pm) at MRICS, Hambantota

November 25 - Galle vs Dambulla (3.00 pm), Colombo vs Kandy (7.30 pm) at Hambantota

November 26 - Kandy vs Jaffna (3.00 pm), Dambulla vs Colombo (7.30 pm) at Hambantota

November 28 - Jaffna vs Colombo (3.00 pm), Kandy vs Galle (7.30 pm) at Hambantota

December 2 - Kandy vs Dambulla (3.00 pm), Jaffna vs Galle (7.30 pm) at Pallekelle

December 3 - Dambulla vs Galle (3.00 pm), Kandy vs Colombo (7.30 pm) at Pallekelle

December 5 - Jaffna vs Colombo (3.00 pm), Galle vs Kandy (7.30 pm) at Pallekelle

December 6 - Dambulla vs Jaffna (7.30 pm) at Pallekelle

December 9 - Dambulla vs Kandy (3.00 pm), Galle vs Jaffna (7.30 pm) at Pallekelle

December 10 - First Semi Final (7.30 pm) at Pallekelle

December 11 - Second Semi Final (7.30 pm) at Pallekelle

December 13 - Final (7.30 pm)

December 14 - Final (Reserve Day) (7.30 pm) at Pallekelle