Sri Lanka to jointly host T20WC with India in 2026 | Daily News

Sri Lanka to jointly host T20WC with India in 2026

The International Cricket Council (ICC) yesterday announced that Sri Lanka and India jointly will host T20 world cup in 2026.

ICC also announced eight upcoming tournaments and their respective host nations and also confirmed the 14 host countries of the ICC men's white ball events from 2024 to 2031.Eleven full members and the three Associate members have been selected to host two ICC Men's cricket world cups,four ICC Men's T20 world cups and two ICC men's Champions Trophy events.

The USA and Namibia will host an ICC World Cup event for the first time. Whilst Australia, Bangladesh, England, Ireland, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Zimbabwe have previously staged major events and will do so again over the next decade.

Sri Lanka previously jointly hosted ICC men's world cup with India and Bangladesh in 2011 which was won by India defeating Sri Lanka in the final in Mumbai. Following year Sri Lanka hosted ICC T20 world cup which was won by West Indies defeating Sri Lanka at the final at R.Premadada Stadium.

ICC Chairman Greg Barclay stated that “We are delighted to have concluded this competitive bidding process for the first time for ICC events. To have 14 Members hosting eight events is a reflection of the truly global nature of our sport and I’d like to thank every Member that submitted a bid and offer our congratulations to the successful bidders.

ICC also stated The awarding of the events to preferred hosts is subject to the completion of the host agreements and the ICC will now work closely with Members to finalize arrangements. 17 Members submitted a total of 28 proposals to host the eight ICC Men’s white ball events.

ICC men’s event hosts announced for 2024-31:

2024 T20WC: USA, West Indies
2025 Champions Trophy : Pakistan
2026 T20WC: India, Sri Lanka
2027 ODI WC: South Africa, Zimbabwe, Namibia
2028 T20WC: Australia, NZ
2029 Champions Trophy : India
2030 T20WC: England, Ireland, Scotland
2031 ODI WC: India, Bangladesh

Add new comment