Sooriyabandara tipped to lead SL National squad | Daily News
Commonwealth & Asian Games Rugby 7’s

Sooriyabandara tipped to lead SL National squad

Srinath Sooriyabandara
Srinath Sooriyabandara

Former Isipathana and present Kandy Sports Club utility player Srinath Sooriyabandara is tipped to lead a probable 20 member Sri Lanka national Sevens rugby squad for the upcoming Commonwealth and Asian Games Sevens Rugby tournament, which will take place in Birmingham, England (from July 28) and China (from September 25).

The good news for the Tuskers is the welcome return of Kandy captain along with their centre and former Sri Lanka national sevens player Nigel Ratwatte and his cousin brother Tharinda Ratwatte to the side.

The selectors have also drafted in some young players off the calibre of Adeesha Weeratunga (former Isipathana College/Navy SC), Avishka Lee (ex-Wesley College/CH and FC), Ramesh Fernando (former St.Peters College/Havelocks), Tharinda Ratwatte (ex Trinity College/Kandy), Ravindu Hettiarachchi (former Isipathana College /Air Force ), Heshan Jansen (ex Kingswood College/ Kandy), Dilukshan Dange (former Trinity College/ Kandy) and Chathura Seneviratne (ex St.Joseph’s College/Navy SC) for this tournament.

Short listed probable 20 member Sr Lanka Sevens rugby squad is as follows (Subject to Ministry of Sports Approval):

Srinath Sooriyabandara, Kavindu Perera, Buddima Piyarathna, Danush Dayan, Nigel Ratwatte, Tarinnda Ratwatte, Dilushka Dange, Heshan Jansen (Kandy SC), Mithun Hapugoda, Lasindu Karunathilake, Ramesh Fernando (Havelocks SC), Avishka Lee, Sudam Suriyarachchi, Reza Rafaideen (CH&FC), Ravindu Hettiarachchi, Ovin Hettiarachchi (Airforce SC), Iroshan Silva (Police SC), Sudharaka Dikkumbura (ArmySC) Adeesha Weeratunga, Chathura Seneviratne (Navy SC).

Add new comment