Old Trinitians SC win | Daily News

Old Trinitians SC win

Old Trinitians Sports Club thrashed Madawala Cricket Club by 154 runs in the Kandy District Cricket Association Division three tournament game played at St. Anthony’s College grounds Katugastota.

Madawala Cricket Club won the toss and invited Old Trinitians Sports Club to bat first, and they went on to score 207 runs losing all the wickets in 44.1 over’s Janoith Warnakuala batted well to score 60 runs with some superb strokes right round the wicket, Naveen Ekanyake scored 34 and Zameer Riay and Mohamed Munshig got three and two wickets.

In reply Madalwala Cricket Club failed to give their best and were bowled out for 53 runs in 14.3 overs. Malith Rathnayake bowled to a line and length to pocket 5 for 29 and Sweath Anurajeewa took for 4 for 14.

Old Trinitians S.C. 207 all out in 44.1 over’s – Janith Warnakula 60, Naveen Ekanayake 34, Zameer Riyaz 3 for 27 and Mohammed Munshif 2 for 01

Madawala C.C. 53 all out in 14.3 over’s- Mohamed Riyaz 21, Malith Rathnayake 5 for 29, Sweath Anurajeewa 4 for 14.

Clifford heads Trinity Cricket Foundation

Once again Trinity College cricket captain of 2002 and 2003 and Ryde Gold Medalist Clifford Fernando comes in as the president of the Trinity College Cricket Foundation. He was re-elected at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) which took place last Saturday. During his two years of captaincy he was a fine leader, and team work was the hallmark of Trinity’s success. Clifford Fernando during his playing days was an elegant batsman who scored many runs and was also a useful medium paceman.

The committee is formed with people like Patron – Rev. Fr. Araliya Jayasundara, Vice Patrons - Nilantha Ratnayake and Amil Ramanadan. President - Clifford Fernando, Vice President - Ishan Ratnayake, Secretary- Amil Anaz, Asst Secretary - Hasitha Boyagoda, Treasurer - Dinuk Wickramanayake , Asst Treasurer - Rajitha Bandara. General Committee Rashmika Peiris, Maduranga Munaweera, Amila Wijesekara, Charitha Dumbarange, Anfal Hanafi, Alwin Fernando

Hockey trials begin

Kandy District Hockey Association headed by R. Maheswaran has started trials from 9th and will have till 20th, to pick the Kandy District team for the Nationals. the team is coached by a veteran hockey player G.G. Dharmarthne and the co-coaches are A. Sumanarthne and S. Vithanage.

Add new comment