Defense Services out to retain national hockey crown | Daily News

Defense Services out to retain national hockey crown

After laps of four years 59th National Men’s Hockey championship scheduled to be held from today to September 25 at two venues Colombo University grounds and Reid Avenue Hockey grounds. The championship will be held for the A.A. Wairasinghe Challenge Trophy while 17 teams will vie for the championship during this four day event conducted by the Sri Lanka Hockey Federation collaboration with Schools Hockey Federation.

The Defense Service team who maintained an unbeaten record from year 1996 once again is leading among the participating 17 teams. Actually most number of players having international experience are included for the Defense Service team and they have good advantage to win the title once again. The preliminary round of the tournament will conduct on league basis while from quarter finals onwards will conduct on knock out basis.

The 17 teams divided into four groups A, B, C and D will compete for the league round. For the first time 18 talented school hockey players are selected to represented the Sri Lanka Schools team. The few school players who are having international experience are included for the Sri Lanka Schools team. The schools players from Galle, Colombo, Matale, Badulla are selected for this team while this players are selected from the performances of the recently concluded under 20 combined school Hockey tournament which was held in Colombo Hockey Courts in Read Avenue and qualifying trials for the selections was held recently at the Peradeniya University grounds. Both this tournaments were conducted by the Sri Lanka Schools Hockey Association.

Sri Lanka Schools senior boys hockey team:

Tashan Akash Dissanayake(St Peter's Bambalapitiya ), Radun Vinujaya Dharmaratne (St Peter's Bambalapitiya), Menula Losath Hewawasam (St Peter's). Kavindu Jayampathi Gunaratne (St Sylvester's, Kandy), Hasantha Kavinda Alwis(St Sylvester's, Kandy), Dakshitha Hasthika Samarasinghe (Dharmaraja, Kandy),Udesh Sandeepa (St Aloysius', Galle), Nuwan Nilupul Hendiniya (St Thomas Matale), Kaveesha Dasun Fernando (St Thomas Matale), Dulara Randepa Nanayakkara (Vijaya College Matale), Pasindu Sathsara Kalhara (Vidyartha, Kandy), Navindu Chamod Jayasinghe (Dharmadutha College Badulla), Sachintha Piyumika Gunaweardena (Christ Church Matale), Abdullah Iflal(S. Thomas Mt Lavinia), Liyan Poshala Fernandupulle (Maris Stella Negombo), Sathira Renuja Wijethunga (Trinity, Kandy), Rose Lipton Fernando (St Joseph's, Colombo), Manosha Dilshan Dissanayake (Kingswood Kandy), Anuruddha Herath Bandara(Manager), Tyroon Hasara Alwis(coach)

National men's hockey championships teams and their groups

A Group – Defense Services, Wennappuwa, Sri Lanka Schools, Combined Universities,Jaffna

B Group – Government Services, Matale, Gampaha Uva

C Group – Mercantile, Ratnapura, Matara, Kandy,

D Group – Colombo, State Services, Kalutara, Galle


Add new comment