SC concludes hearing 12 FR cases against failure to prevent Easter attacks | Daily News

SC concludes hearing 12 FR cases against failure to prevent Easter attacks

The Supreme Court yesterday concluded the hearing of 12 Fundamental Rights petitions filed against the failure to prevent the terrorist attack  on Easter Sunday that took place on April 21, 2019 despite receiving intelligence information and reserved its judgement.

The petitions were taken up before a Supreme Court seven-judge Bench comprising Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya, Justices Buwaneka Aluvihare, L.T.B.Dehideniya, Murdu Fernando, S.Thurairajah, A.H.M.D.Nawaz and Shiran Gunaratne.

Previously, the counsels who appeared for the petitioners and the respondents made lengthy submissions over the petitions and it was concluded yesterday.

Following that, both parties were directed to file their written submissions on the petitions within three weeks by the Supreme Court.

The petitions were filed by Nandana Sirimanna, a father who lost his two children in the bombing, businessman Janath Vidanage, three Catholic priests including Sarath Iddamalgoda and Moditha Ekanayake, a lawyer who was a victim in the Shangri-La bombing and others.

Former IGP Pujith Jayasundara, former Defense Secretary Hemasiri Fernando, former President Maithripala Sirisena, former Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, the then Cabinet and the Attorney General have been cited as the respondents in the petitions.

The petitions allege that the respondents did not act to prevent the Easter attack despite intelligence that a terrorist attack was being carried out by a group of Muslim extremists.

The petitions therefore seek an order to take legal action against them for their negligence.

Justices Priyantha Jayawardena and Gamini Amarasekera had earlier stated that they would not attend the hearing of the petition due to personal reasons. Accordingly, the aforesaid seven member bench was appointed by Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya.

President’s Counsel Sanjeewa Jayawardena with Attorney Lakmini Warusavithana appeared for petitioner Bar Association of Sri Lanka (BASL). Saliya Peiris PC and Manohara De Silva PC appeared for certain other petitioners.

Additional Solicitor General (ASG) Priyantha Nawana with ASG Nerin Pulle and Deputy Solicitor General Avanthi Perera appeared on behalf of the Attorney General.

Faizer Mustapha PC with Attorney Shaheeda Bari appeared for former President Mathripala Sirisena.Suren Fernando PC appeared for President Ranil Wickramesinghe.

Shammil Perera PC with Attorneys Varuna Senadhira and Duthika Perera appeared for the Archbishop of Colombo.


Add new comment