Kandy Police women’s team Tug of War champions | Daily News

Kandy Police women’s team Tug of War champions

The Champion Team of Tug-Of-War with the Officials of the Kandy Police Division.   Front Row Seated from left: P.Galanga (Coach), ASP Saman Angammana, SSP Chamila Ratnayake, CI R.L.Wijesuriya(OIC Sports), CI Shantha Rohana (Coach).   Second Row Standing: WPC Madhushani(8736), WPC Sandamali(9194), WPC Rajapakse(7197),   WPC Nilmini(2084). WSI Herath, WSI Pallegama, WPC Chamila(3866-Captain) WPC Iresha(8763), WPC Karunaratne)9992), WPC Atukorale(9086), WSI Kumari. (Picture. by Upananda Jayasundera-Kandy Sports Spl.Corr     

A Tug-Of-War Contest was held between the Three Districts, Kandy Nuwara-Eliya and Matale in connection with the 47th National Sports Festival at the Digana International Sports Stadium over the week end.

The Police Womens’ Team of Kandy District emerged champions beating the team of Nuwara Eliya and Matale Districts and the team was coached by P.Galanga supported by Chief Inspector of Kandy Police Shantha Rohana well known in the International Rugby Circles and SSP Chamila Ratnayake gave all the necessary facilities for practices for the Womens’ Team of Tug-Of-War at the Police Grounds, Asgiriya, Kandy.

This team practised for the last two months under the Supervision of Chief Inspector R.L. Wijesuriya, Sports-in-Charge of the Police Division, Kandy.

Add new comment