MCA ‘E’ division cricket resumes today | Daily News

MCA ‘E’ division cricket resumes today

The Mercantile Cricket Association (MCA)‘E’ Division cricket tournament will resume today (6) after the completion of the league round which started last December 10th.

The President of the MCA Nalin Wickramasinghe said this is the second longest-running MCA partnership with the David Pieris Group of Company for the DPGC Challenge trophy.

Romany Parakrama the Director Group Corporate Communications DPMC (Pvt) Ltd third from right handing over the MCA ‘E ‘ division cricket sponsorship to MCA President Nalin Wickramasinghe at the press briefing held at MCA Board room. Also in the picture from left Rohan Somawansa Assistant secretary of MCA and Chairman of Sponsorship committee, Tharinda Kaluperuma Secretary MCA, Nadi Dharmasiri Group Chief Marketing officer of DPMC and Ajantha Premasiri Chief Marketing Officer DPMC. (Pic by Sudath Malaweera)

The MCA always provides a good platform to players of the Mercantile firms and has tournaments from “A’ division to “H”, MCA sixes and veteran tournaments,” added MCA President Nalin Wickramasinghe.

The tournament has 17 teams polled into three groups and the group stage of the tournament consists of 40 matches already played and this is not an easy task to conduct at various venues such as our own venue MCA grounds, St Josephs College grounds Maradana, D.S. Senanayake college grounds Wijerama Mawatha, Dharmapala College Pannipitiya grounds, St John’s Panadura grounds, Ananda College grounds, De Mazenod grounds Kandana, Royal grounds Reid Avenue, Thurstan grounds and St Sebastian grounds Moratuwa.

Romany Parakrama Director of Group Corporate Communications DPMC (Pvt) Ltd said they are very keen to associate with MCA while former Presidents of MCA Neel Perera and Rohana Dissanayake the former Secretary are the senior group Directors while many MCA officials representing David Pieris Company and their charity programs always tried to promote school cricket.

The schools from Hambantota Debarawewa Central, Hungama Vijayaba MMV, Theraputha MV, Hambantota National school, and many more rural schools received good sponsorship from DPMC (Pvt) Ltd and we are very happy today Suranga Lakmal and Dhananjaya de Silva started their cricket from Debarawewa Central, Dilshan Madushanka from Hungama Vijayaba MMV and Promod Madushan from Theraputta MV already represented the National school and we are sure many players are next in line for the National team from these schools and our sponsorship is worthwhile for this type of schools said Romany Parakrama Director of DPMC(Pvt) Ltd.

Tyrone Perera the Media coordinator of MCA said Professional cricket umpires, official scorers and MCA-appointed qualified match referees bring more value to this tournament which is 25 over tournament while the D/L method also applies for the rain-interrupted matches according to the ICC rules and this is going to be very competitive cricket always conducted by MCA.

The final of the MCA ‘E’ Division tournament will be held on February 11th while the best batter, best bowler of the tournament, player of the tournament and player of the final will receive special awards and the champion team will receive the DPMC Challenge trophy.


Add new comment