Arson attacks on politicians’ homes: Court issues notice on respondents | Daily News

Arson attacks on politicians’ homes: Court issues notice on respondents

The Court of Appeal yesterday decided to hear a Writ Petition filed by a group of Parliamentarians requesting an order directing the authorities to conduct a comprehensive investigation and to issue a Writ ordering the Inspector General of Police and the security authorities to take action under the  criminal law against those responsible for the May 9 attacks. Notices were issued to 18 respondents, including the Inspector General of Police, the Defence Secretary, the Army Commander, the Chief of Staff of the Army, the Senior DIG in charge of the Western Province Deshbandu Tennakoon, the Secretary of the Ministry of Public Security to present facts before the court on February 24. The petitions were called before the Court of Appeal Judges Sobitha Rajakaruna and Dhammika Ganepola.

They were filed by 39 Ministers and Parliamentarians including Dr.Bandula Gunawardena, Gamini Lokuge, Janaka Bandara Thennakoon, Prasanna Ranatunga, Prasanna Ranaweera, Siripala Gamlath, S.M.Chandrasena, Shehan Semasinghe, Rohitha Abeygunawardena, Kokila Gunawardena, Sahan Pradeep, Shashindra Rajapaksa and Sagara Kariyawasam stating that houses and property were damaged in the incidents of arson and assault on May 9.

Sanjeewa Jayawardena PC, who appeared for the petitioners, requested that a Writ of Mandamus be issued to compel an investigation against the persons responsible for not taking steps to prevent the violent incidents that took place on May 9. He also asked the Bench to issue notice to the respondents. The request was granted.

Sanjeewa Jayawardena PC stated to Court that a Member of Parliament was brutally beaten to death on May 9 and several politicians including Kumara Welgama MP were brutally attacked and the houses of the petitioners and politicians were set on fire during the same period.


Add new comment