Immediate compensation for Nanu-Oya accident victims | Daily News

Immediate compensation for Nanu-Oya accident victims

Expert’s Committee to formulate guidelines to ensure safety

President Ranil Wickremesinghe has instructed the Cabinet of Ministers to pay immediate compensation and the maximum possible amount of compensation for the people who lost their lives due to the road accident that occurred in Radella area of Nanu-Oya on January 20. An expert committee comprising   of Road Safety Council Chairman Sumith Nishshanka, Dr. H.R. Pasindu of the of Moratuwa University, Traffic DIG Indika Hapugoda, Education Ministry’s School Affairs Deputy Director Sriyani Hewage, Motor Traffic Commissioner Kushlani de Silva and National Transport Commission Director Sherin Athukorala has been appointed to look into the measures to be taken to prevent such accidents from happening in the future, Cabinet Media Spokesman, Transport and Mass Media Minister Dr. Bandula Gunawardena said.

He was speaking at the weekly Cabinet media briefing held yesterday at the Government Information Department in response to a query by a journalist regarding the measures taken by the government on behalf of the people who lost their lives due to the road accident that took place in Radella, Nanu-Oya.

Speaking further, the minister said that the minister also discussed with the former students of Thurstan College regarding this accident, and they also said that they will work to help those who have become helpless due to this accident.

The Minister said that since the Transport Commission grants permits for transportation, the relevant expert committee will discuss what rules should be followed when travelling with school students and other children, and what should be done to ensure their safety.

The minister said that this committee will be headed by a Deputy Inspector General of Police and will consist of members from the University of Moratuwa, the Ministry of Education and the National Transport Commission.


Add new comment