COPA discusses progress on using IT in Govt. institutions | Daily News

COPA discusses progress on using IT in Govt. institutions

COPA which met on March 23, 2023 to discuss using Information Technology for Government institutions, established a Committee to be led by the Secretary to the Prime Minister Anura Dissanayake to put forth a mechanism with action dates to be presented to the Committee prior to May 15,2023. Accordingly, the Committee on Public Accounts met yesterday (23) in Parliament under the Chairmanship of Lasantha Alagiyawanna to present the mechanism prepared by the said Committee.

Thus, Secretary to the Prime Minister Anura Dissanayake explained in detail the use of Information Technology in relation to 13 Government institutions.

The following 13 institutions were considered regarding the use of Information Technology.

1. Department for Registration of Persons

2. Sri Lanka Customs

3. Import and Export Control Department

4. Department of Agriculture

5. Sri Lanka Standards Institute

6. Motor Transport Department

7. Excise Department

8. Inland Revenue Department

9. Department of Registrar of Companies

10. Registrar General’s Department

11. Food Control Unit, Ministry of Health

12. Colombo Municipal Council

13. Ministry of Finance, Economic Stabilization and National Policy

COPA discussed at length the matters arising when using Information Technology, updating and maintenance of the software used.

Special attention was paid to the use of information technology in the Department of Registration of Persons and the software expected to be used there.

The Sri Lanka Information Technology Agency (ICTA) also explained the contribution of their organization for this purpose. Furthermore, a group of officials were also connected through Zoom technology.

State Ministers Diana Gamage, Chamara Sampath Dasanayake, Members of Parliament Niroshan Perera, J. C. Alawathuwala, (Dr.) Major Pradeep Undugoda, Weerasumana Weerasinghe, Manjula Dissanayake and Dr. Harini Amarasuriya were present at the Committee meeting.


Add new comment