Travel ban on Namal, five others lifted | Daily News

Travel ban on Namal, five others lifted

Fort Magistrate Thilina Gamage yesterday (7), ordered the complete lifting of the foreign travel bans imposed on MPs Namal Rajapaksa, C.B.Ratnayake, Sampath Athukorala, Sanjeewa Edirimanna and Renuka Perera, who were named as suspects involved in the incident of attacking activists on May 9, 2022.

The Magistrate thus ordered that this order be forwarded to the Controller General of Immigration and Emigration and that the passports be released.

The magistrate made this order after considering the request made by President’s Counsel Shavendra Fernando to lift their travel bans since they have not been named as suspects. The magistrate also ordered that the travel ban on the fourth suspect, Milan Jayathilaka, be removed for two months.

The Magistrate ordered the Criminal Investigation Department to recall the case on July 19 and to inform court of the progress of the investigation on that day. A panel of lawyers including the President’s Counsel Maithri Gunaratne presented facts before court on behalf of the aggrieved parties while President’s Counsel Sampath Mendis and a group of lawyers appeared in court on behalf of the suspects. When the case was taken up for hearing, suspects including MPs Milan Jayathilaka, Sanath Nishantha and Johnston Fernando appeared in court.

Add new comment