UAE imposes travel ban on Sri Lanka, other countries | Daily News

UAE imposes travel ban on Sri Lanka, other countries

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) has imposed a travel ban on Sri Lanka and a few other countries where coronavirus cases have seen a rise over the last couple of weeks.

According to a notification issued by the UAE’s National Emergency Crisis and Disaster Management Authority, travelers from Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal and Sri Lanka will not be allowed to enter UAE from 11.59pm on Wednesday, May 12.

This decision also includes extending the suspension of entry for travelers who were in these four countries in the 14-day period prior to arrival in the UAE.

Flights between the four countries will continue to allow the transport of passengers from the UAE to Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal and Sri Lanka and the transfer of exempted groups from these countries to the UAE who have applied for exemption.

Exempted travelers, including UAE citizens, those on diplomatic missions accredited by the four countries, official delegations, those traveling on business planes, and golden residence holders, will be subject to precautionary measures that include a 10-day quarantine and PCR testing at the airport and on the fourth and eighth days after entering the country.

The required PCR testing period prior to travel has been reduced from 72 to 48 hours, and all tests must be administered by accredited laboratories that issue results carrying a QR code.

The General Authority of Civil Aviation confirmed that travelers coming the four countries through other countries are required to provide proof of a period of stay in those countries of no less than 14 days in order to be allowed to enter the UAE. Cargo flights will continue to operate between the four countries.

The General Authority of Civil Aviation called upon all travelers affected by the decision to contact the relevant airlines to reschedule their flights and ensure their safe return to their final destinations without delay.