No details of 35 Security Council meetings during MS rule | Daily News

No details of 35 Security Council meetings during MS rule

Persons not permitted as per gazette have also participated then

There are no documented details of thirty-five Security Council meetings held within the four years from October 28, 2015 to August 28, 2019  under former President Maithripala Sirisena, it was revealed in a reply tabled in parliament yesterday (19).

It was revealed so in a reply tabled by Minister Prasanna Ranatunga as questioned by SJB MP Thushara Indunil in relation to the security council meetings held from January 2015 to November 2019.

There are only twenty-three Security Council meetings held in those four years, the tabled document revealed.

According to the reply sent by the Defence Ministry, eighteen meetings have been held in 2015, eight meetings in 2016 and seven meetings in 2017. Also, eight meetings have been held in 2018 and seventeen meetings in 2019. The reply also mentions the list of representatives who participated in the meetings.

As published in the Special Gazette No. 1081/19 dated 27.05.1999, the President, one Cabinet Minister or Ministers nominated by the President, the Deputy Minister of the Ministry concerned with Defense, the Secretary to the President, the Secretary of the Ministry concerned with Defense, Chiefs of Staff, Army Commander, Navy Commander, Air Force Commander, Inspector General of Police, Director General of Internal Intelligence are the persons entitled to participate in the Security Council meeting.

It is also stated in the reply that it is clear when examining the list of names, persons who are not permitted as per the special gazette have also participated in the Security Council meeting on the discretion and permission of the then President.



Add new comment