Dambulla ahead after Vishwa and Asitha tear through Jaffna | Daily News

Dambulla ahead after Vishwa and Asitha tear through Jaffna

Two Sri Lanka pacemen Vishwa Fernando (5 for 14) and Asitha Fernando (4 for 24) helped Dambulla restrict Jaffna to a low score. They were struggling at 62 in just 26 overs. Dambulla who were on 50 for 5 wickets at one stage managed to add a further 120 to their innings to make it 170 for 6 at close in their National Super league 4 Day match at SSC grounds yesterday.  

Vishwa and Asitha both swung the ball to pick up early wickets which put huge pressure on Jaffna.  

Dambulla were 50 for 5 wickets at one stage with young paceman Yasiru Rodrigo picking up 3 for 39 while skipper Lahiru Madashanka and leg spinner Dilum Sudeera shared one wicket each. At the end of the day, bowlers dominated to claim 16 wickets and 14 of them were taken by the pacemen.  

The Skipper of Dambulla Minod Bhanuka hit a well-fluent knock of an unbeaten 64 and Ranitha Liyanarachchi scored 51 as they proved to be the only two dependable batsmen in the side.   

Meanwhile, at P.Sara Oval Stadium, Kandy made 290 in their first innings while Galle were 53 for 1 wicket at close of the first day. Sadun Weerakkody who scored 144 in the first game once again hit 76 in 82 balls with 9 fours and 2 sixes and young Ahan Wickramasinghe who scored 62 off 60 balls with 2 fours and 5 sixes were the two standouts for Kandy.  

Asanka Manoj was the Galle successful bowler taking 4 for 31 while Kavishka Anjula and skipper Ramesh Mendis took two wickets each.  

Chief scores  

* At SSC grounds.   

Jaffna: 62 in 26.5 overs (Kasun Abeyratne 16, Lahiru Madashanka 10, Ravindu Fernando 13, Asitha Fernando 4/24, Vishwa Fernando 5 / 14, Duvindu Thillekaratne 1/4)   

Dambulla: 170 for 6 wickets at close in 41 overs (Nimesh Gunasinghe 10, Minod Bhanuka 64*, Sanoj Dharshika 18, Ranitha Liyanarachchi 51, Nipun Malinga 1/36, Yasiru Rodrigo 3/39, Lahiru Madashanka 1/33, Dilum Sudeera 1/14)  

* At P.Sara Oval Stadium  

Kandy: 290 all out Udayawansa Parakrama 49, Kasun Vidura 16, Sadun Weerakkody 76, Ahan Wickramasinghe 62, Raveen Yasas 10, Movin Subasinghe 30, Wanuja Sahan 12, Nipun Ransika 12, Kavishka Anjula 2/56, Asanka Manoj 4/31, Ramesh Mendis 2/63, Praveen Jayawickrama 1/56)  

Galle: 53 for 1 wicket at close (Sangeeth Cooray 27*, Lakshan Ediridinghe 24*, Nipun Ransika 1/23)  

Add new comment